Faculty

Rajendra V. Boppana
Professor
Ph.D., University of Southern California (1991)
Office: NPB 3.108
Phone: (210) 458-5692
Web: http://www.cs.utsa.edu/faculty/boppana
Email: boppana@cs.utsa.edu
Research Interests: Computer Networks; Computer and Information Security
Larry Clark
Lecturer III
MS, The University of Texas at San Antonio (1980)
Office: NPB 3.332
Phone: (210) 458-4163
Web: http://www.cs.utsa.edu/~clark/
Email: larry.clark@utsa.edu
Amanda Fernandez
Assistant Professor in Practice
Ph.D., University of Albany, SUNY (2015)
Office: NPB 3.214
Phone: (210) 458-4146
Web: http://cs.utsa.edu/~fernandez
Email: Amanda.Fernandez@utsa.edu 
Matthew Gibson
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Iowa (2010)
Office: NPB 3.320
Phone: (210) 458-8732
Web: http://cs.utsa.edu/~gibson/
Email: gibson@cs.utsa.edu
Research Interests: Algorithms, Computational Geometry, Medical Image Segmentation
Michael Gubanov
Cloud Technology Endowed Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Washington (2010)
Office: NPB 3.212
Phone: (210) 458-4166
Web: http://www.mgubanov.com
Email: mikhail.gubanov@utsa.edu
Research Interests: Cloud Computing, Large-scale Data Management (Big Data), Machine Learning, Natural Language Processing, Biomedical Informatics
Murtuza Jadliwala
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University at Buffalo (2008)
Office: NPB 3.340
Phone: (210) 458-5693
Web: http://www.cs.utsa.edu/~jadliwala/
Email: murtuza.jadliwala@utsa.edu
Research Interests: Computer Systems and Network Security and Privacy
Turgay Korkmaz
Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Arizona (2001)
Office: NPB 3.330
Phone: (210) 458-7346
Web: http://www.cs.utsa.edu/~korkmaz
Email: korkmaz@cs.utsa.edu
Research Interests: Computer Networks; Computer and Information Security
Palden Lama
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Colorado (2013)
Office: NPB 3.204
Phone: (210) 458-6088
Web: http://www.cs.utsa.edu/~plama/
Email: palden.lama@utsa.edu
Research Interests: Cloud Computing, Distributed Systems, Operating Systems, Sustainable Computing
Tongping Liu
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Massachusetts, Amherst (2014)
Office: NPB 3.328
Phone: (210) 458-5550
Web: http://www.cs.utsa.edu/~tongpingliu/
Email: tongping.liu@utsa.edu
Research Interests: Parallel Computing, Big Data, Operating Systems
Hugh Maynard
Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Colorado (1970)
Office: NPB 3.336
Phone: (210) 458-5542
Email: maynard@cs.utsa.edu
Research Interests: Computer and Information Security
Abdullah Al Muzahid
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (2012)
Office: NPB 3.324
Phone: (210) 458-8734
Web: http://www.cs.utsa.edu/~muzahid
Email: muzahid@cs.utsa.edu
Research Interests: Computer architecture, Parallel programming, Software reliability
Jianwei Niu
Professor and Interim Chair
Ph.D., University of Waterloo (2005)
Office: NPB 3.314
Phone: (210) 458-7360
Web: http://www.cs.utsa.edu/~niu/
Email: niu@cs.utsa.edu
Research Interests: Software Engineering; Computer and Information Security
John P. Quarles
Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Florida (2009)
Office: NPB 3.322
Phone: (210) 458-7433
Web: http://www.cs.utsa.edu/~jpq/
Email: jpq@cs.utsa.edu
Research Interests: Human-Computer Interaction; Virtual, Augmented and Mixed Realities
Kay A. Robbins
Professor
Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology (1975)
Office: NPB 3.344
Phone: (210) 458-5543
Web: http://www.cs.utsa.edu/~krobbins/
Email: kay.robbins@utsa.edu
Research Interests: Visualization; Computational Biology; Scientific Applications
Mark Robinson
Lecturer II
Ph.D., The University of Texas at San Antonio (2013)
Office: NPB 3.202
Phone: (210) 458-5545
Web: http://www.cs.utsa.edu/~markrobinson
Email: mrobinso@cs.utsa.edu
Research Interests: Software Engineering, Enterprise Architecture, Agile Methods
Jianhua Ruan
Associate Professor
Ph.D., Washington University in Saint Louis (2007)
Office: NPB 3.318
Phone: (210) 458-6819
Web: http://www.cs.utsa.edu/~jruan/
Email: jruan@cs.utsa.edu
Research Interests: Bioinformatics; Computational Systems Biology
Ravi Sandhu
Professor and Lutcher Brown Endowed Chair in Cyber Security
Executive Director, Institute for Cyber Security
Ph.D., Rutgers University (1983)
Office: NPB 3.122K
Phone: (210) 458-6081
Web: http://www.profsandhu.com/
Email: ravi.sandhu@utsa.edu
Research Interests: Secure Information Sharing, Secure Social Computing, Infrastructure Assurance, Trustworthy Cloud Computing, Secure SOA, Botnet Analysis and Detection
Rocky Slavin
Assistant Professor in Practice
Ph.D., The University of Texas at San Antonio (2017)
Office: NPB 3.350
Phone: (210) 458-7214
Web: http://www.cs.utsa.edu/~rslavin/
Email: rocky.slavin@utsa.edu
Qi Tian
Professor
Ph.D., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (2002)
Office: NPB 3.306
Phone: (210) 458-5165
Web: http://www.cs.utsa.edu/~qitian/
Email: qitian@cs.utsa.edu
Research Interests: Computer Vision; Multimedia Information Retrieval; Pattern Recognition; Computational Biology
Ali Saman Tosun
Associate Professor
Ph.D., The Ohio State University (2003)
Office: NPB 3.334
Phone: (210) 458-7663
Web: http://www.cs.utsa.edu/~tosun/
Email: tosun@cs.utsa.edu
Research Interests: Databases; Computer Networks; Computer and Information Security; High Performance Computing
Wei Wang
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Virginia (2015)
Office: NPB 3.210
Phone: (210) 458-5667
Web: http://www.cs.utsa.edu/~wwang/
Email: wei.wang@utsa.edu
Research Interests: Programming Languages and Compilers; Software Reliability and Security; Runtime Environments
Xiaoyin Wang
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Peking University (2012)
Office: NPB 3.208
Phone: (210) 458-5734
Web: http://www.cs.utsa.edu/~xwang/
Email: xiaoyin.wang@utsa.edu
Research Interests: Software Process and Evolution, Software Mining and Natural Language Processing Based Software Comprehension, Program Analysis (especially String Analysis), Security Analysis of Software Applications
Gregory B. White
Professor
Ph.D., Texas A&M University (1995)
Office: NPB 3.138B10
Phone: (210) 458-2166
Web: http://gbwhiteonline.net/white_vita_page.html
Email: Greg.White@utsa.edu
Research Interests: Computer and Information Security
Shouhuai Xu
Professor
Ph.D., Fudan University (2000)
Office: NPB 3.342
Phone: (210) 458-5739
Web: http://www.cs.utsa.edu/~shxu/
Email: shxu@cs.utsa.edu
Research Interests: Computer and Information Security; Cryptography; Intrusion Detection
Meng Yu
Associate Professor
Ph.D., Nanjing University (2001)
Office: NPB 3.310
Phone: (210) 458-4967
Web: http://www.cs.utsa.edu/~myu/
Email: meng.yu@utsa.edu
Research Interests: Computer and System Security, Cloud Computing, Virtualization
Weining Zhang
Associate Professor and Assistant Chair
Ph.D., University of Illinois at Chicago (1988)
Office: NPB 3.326
Phone: (210) 458-5557
Web: http://www.cs.utsa.edu/~wzhang/
Email: wzhang@cs.utsa.edu
Research Interests: Databases; Data Mining; Data Privacy
Dakai Zhu
Professor
Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh (2004)
Office: NPB 3.338
Phone: (210) 458-7453
Web: http://www.cs.utsa.edu/~dzhu/
Email: dzhu@cs.utsa.edu
Research Interests: Embedded Systems; Real-Time Systems; Parallel and Distributed Systems; High Performance Computing

Adjunct Faculty

Joel Allardyce
Lecturer I
MS, Texas A&M University (2004)
Office: NPB 3.222
Phone: (210) 458-4177
Web: http://www.cs.utsa.edu/~joela/
Email: joel.allardyce@utsa.edu
Darniet Jennings
Lecturer II
Ph.D., University of Maryland, Baltimore County (2003)
Office: NPB 3.222
Phone: (210) 458-4177
Web: http://www.cs.utsa.edu/~djennings/
Email: djennings@cs.utsa.edu
Richard Murphy
Lecturer II
MS, The University of Texas at San Antonio (2004)
Office: NPB 3.222
Phone: (210) 458-4177
Web: https://sites.google.com/site/rm271828/
Email: richard.murphy@utsa.edu
Research Interests: Network performance monitoring and modeling, Protocol design, Protocol Interactions, Computer Science Pedagogy
Ermine Orta
Lecturer II
MS, The University of Texas at Austin (2004)
Office: NPB 3.222
Phone: (210) 458-4177
Web: http://www.cs.utsa.edu/~eorta/
Email: eorta@cs.utsa.edu
John Ortiz
Lecturer III
MS, Air Force Institute of Technology (1997)
Office: NPB 3.222
Phone: (210) 458-4177
Web: http://www.cs.utsa.edu/~jortiz/
Email: stego@satx.rr.com
Research Interests: Steganography, Computer Forensics, Reverse Engineering, Malware Analysis
Dawnlee Roberson
Lecturer II
Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin (1998)
Office: NPB 3.316
Phone: (210) 458-4501
Web: http://my.cs.utsa.edu/~roberson
Email: dawnlee.roberson@utsa.edu
Marie-Michelle Saint Hubert
Lecturer II
Ph.D., The University of Texas at San Antonio (2013)
Office: NPB 3.316
Phone: (210) 458-4501
Web: http://www.cs.utsa.edu/~msainthubert/
Email: msainthubert@cs.utsa.edu
Jessica Sherette
Lecturer II
Ph.D., The University of Texas at San Antonio (2013)
Office: NPB 3.222
Phone: (210) 458-4177
Web: http://www.cs.utsa.edu/~jsherett/
Email: jlsherette@satx.rr.com

Emeritus Faculty

Tom Bylander
Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., The Ohio State University (1986)
Web: http://www.cs.utsa.edu/~bylander
Email: bylander@cs.utsa.edu
Research Interests: Artificial Intelligence; Machine Learning; Expert Systems
Anthony Chronopoulos
Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (1986)
Web: http://www.cs.utsa.edu/faculty/atc
Email: anthony.chronopoulos@utsa.edu
Research Interests: Computational Science & Engineering; High Performance Computing; Distributed & Parallel Systems
Steve Robbins
Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology (1973)
Web: http://cs.utsa.edu
Email: steven.robbins@utsa.edu
Research Interests: Visualization; Auralization and Animation

Courtesy Appointed Faculty

H.R. Rao

Web: http://cs.utsa.edu
Email: hr.rao@utsa.edu

Staff

Vanessa Acosta
Student Development Specialist II
Office: NPB 3.108
Phone: (210) 458-4436
Email: vanessa.acosta@utsa.edu
Susan Allen
Administrative Associate II
Office: NPB 3.108
Phone: (210) 458-7217
Email: susan.allen2@utsa.edu
Pik Chanhom
Administrative Manager
Office: NPB 3.108
Phone: (210) 458-4434
Email: pik.chanhom@utsa.edu
Brian Hogan
Senior Systems Administrator
Office: NPB 2.223
Phone: (210) 458-7213
Email: bhogan@cs.utsa.edu
Nam Kyong Kim
Computer Support Specialist
Office: NPB 3.220
Phone: (210) 458-8733
Email: nam.kim@utsa.edu
Cindy Murphy
Administrative Services Officer II
Office: NPB 3.108
Phone: (210) 458-4443
Email: cindy.murphy@utsa.edu
Dan Smolenski
CS Computing Manager
Director of CS Computing Facilities
Office: NPB 2.226
Phone: (210) 458-4433
Web: http://www.cs.utsa.edu/~dsmolens/
Email: dsmolens@cs.utsa.edu
Kimberly Ward
Program Coordinator
Office: NPB 3.302
Phone: (210) 458-4173
Email: kimberly.ward@utsa.edu