Faculty

Rajendra V. Boppana
Professor and Interim Chair
Ph.D., University of Southern California (1991)
Office: FLN 4.01.40
Phone: (210) 458-5692
Web: http://www.cs.utsa.edu/faculty/boppana
Email: boppana@cs.utsa.edu
Research Interests: Computer Networks; Computer and Information Security
Tom Bylander
Associate Professor
Ph.D., The Ohio State University (1986)
Office: FLN 4.01.38
Phone: (210) 458-5693
Web: http://www.cs.utsa.edu/~bylander
Email: bylander@cs.utsa.edu
Research Interests: Artificial Intelligence; Machine Learning; Expert Systems
Anthony T. Chronopoulos
Professor
Ph.D., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (1986)
Office: FLN 3.02.16
Phone: (210) 458-7214
Web: http://www.cs.utsa.edu/faculty/atc
Email: atc@cs.utsa.edu
Research Interests: Computational Science and Engineering, Distributed and Parallel Computing, High Performance Computing
Matthew Gibson
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Iowa (2010)
Office: FLN 4.01.34
Phone: (210) 458-8732
Web: http://cs.utsa.edu/~gibson/
Email: gibson@cs.utsa.edu
Research Interests: Algorithms, Computational Geometry, Medical Image Segmentation
Turgay Korkmaz
Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Arizona (2001)
Office: FLN 4.01.13
Phone: (210) 458-7346
Web: http://www.cs.utsa.edu/~korkmaz
Email: korkmaz@cs.utsa.edu
Research Interests: Computer Networks; Computer and Information Security
Palden Lama
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Colorado (2013)
Office: FLN 4.01.52
Phone: (210) 458-6088
Web: http://www.cs.utsa.edu/~plama/
Email: palden.lama@utsa.edu
Research Interests: Cloud Computing, Distributed Systems, Operating Systems, Sustainable Computing
Hugh Maynard
Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Colorado (1970)
Office: FLN 4.01.28
Phone: (210) 458-5542
Email: maynard@cs.utsa.edu
Research Interests: Computer and Information Security
Abdullah Al Muzahid
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (2012)
Office: FLN 4.01.30
Phone: (210) 458-8734
Web: http://www.cs.utsa.edu/~muzahid
Email: muzahid@cs.utsa.edu
Research Interests: Computer architecture, Parallel programming, Software reliability
Jianwei Niu
Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Waterloo (2005)
Office: FLN 4.01.36
Phone: (210) 458-7360
Web: http://www.cs.utsa.edu/~niu/
Email: niu@cs.utsa.edu
Research Interests: Software Engineering; Computer and Information Security
John P. Quarles
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Florida (2009)
Office: FLN 4.01.11
Phone: (210) 458-7433
Web: http://www.cs.utsa.edu/~jpq/
Email: jpq@cs.utsa.edu
Research Interests: Human-Computer Interaction; Virtual, Augmented and Mixed Realities
Kay A. Robbins
Professor
Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology (1975)
Office: FLN 4.01.25
Phone: (210) 458-5543
Web: http://www.cs.utsa.edu/~krobbins/
Email: kay.robbins@utsa.edu
Research Interests: Visualization; Computational Biology; Scientific Applications
Steven Robbins
Professor
Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology (1973)
Office: FLN 4.01.23
Phone: (210) 458-5544
Web: http://vip.cs.utsa.edu/personnel/srobbins.html
Email: srobbins@cs.utsa.edu
Research Interests: Visualization, Auralization and Animation
Jianhua Ruan
Associate Professor
Ph.D., Washington University in Saint Louis (2007)
Office: FLN 4.01.48
Phone: (210) 458-6819
Web: http://www.cs.utsa.edu/~jruan/
Email: jruan@cs.utsa.edu
Research Interests: Bioinformatics; Computational Systems Biology
Ravi Sandhu
Professor and Lutcher Brown Endowed Chair in Cyber Security
Executive Director, Institute for Cyber Security
Ph.D., Rutgers University (1983)
Office: BSE 2.304
Phone: (210) 458-6081
Web: http://www.profsandhu.com/
Email: ravi.sandhu@utsa.edu
Research Interests: Secure Information Sharing, Secure Social Computing, Infrastructure Assurance, Trustworthy Cloud Computing, Secure SOA, Botnet Analysis and Detection
Qi Tian
Professor
Ph.D., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (2002)
Office: FLN 4.01.15
Phone: (210) 458-5165
Web: http://www.cs.utsa.edu/~qitian/
Email: qitian@cs.utsa.edu
Research Interests: Computer Vision; Multimedia Information Retrieval; Pattern Recognition; Computational Biology
Ali Saman Tosun
Associate Professor
Ph.D., The Ohio State University (2003)
Office: FLN 4.01.32
Phone: (210) 458-7663
Web: http://www.cs.utsa.edu/~tosun/
Email: tosun@cs.utsa.edu
Research Interests: Databases; Computer Networks; Computer and Information Security; High Performance Computing
Jeffery von Ronne
Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of California, Irvine (2005)
Office: FLN 4.01.14
Phone: (210) 458-5667
Web: http://www.cs.utsa.edu/~vonronne/
Email: vonronne@cs.utsa.edu
Research Interests: Programming Languages and Compilers; Software Reliability and Security; Runtime Environments
Xiaoyin Wang
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Peking University (2012)
Office: FLN 4.01.58
Phone: (210) 458-5734
Web: http://www.cs.utsa.edu/~xwang/
Email: xiaoyin.wang@utsa.edu
Research Interests: Software Process and Evolution, Software Mining and Natural Language Processing Based Software Comprehension, Program Analysis (especially String Analysis), Security Analysis of Software Applications
Gregory B. White
Associate Professor
Ph.D., Texas A&M University (1995)
Office: FLN 4.01.17
Phone: (210) 458-6307
Web: http://gbwhiteonline.net/white_vita_page.html
Email: Greg.White@utsa.edu
Research Interests: Computer and Information Security
Shouhuai Xu
Associate Professor
Ph.D., Fudan University (2000)
Office: FLN 4.01.46
Phone: (210) 458-5739
Web: http://www.cs.utsa.edu/~shxu/
Email: shxu@cs.utsa.edu
Research Interests: Computer and Information Security; Cryptography; Intrusion Detection
Weining Zhang
Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Illinois at Chicago (1988)
Office: FLN 4.01.19
Phone: (210) 458-5557
Web: http://www.cs.utsa.edu/~wzhang/
Email: wzhang@cs.utsa.edu
Research Interests: Databases; Data Mining; Data Privacy
Dakai Zhu
Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh (2004)
Office: FLN 4.01.18
Phone: (210) 458-7453
Web: http://www.cs.utsa.edu/~dzhu/
Email: dzhu@cs.utsa.edu
Research Interests: Embedded Systems; Real-Time Systems; Parallel and Distributed Systems; High Performance Computing

Adjunct Faculty

Dennis Cadena
Lecturer III
Office: FLN 4.01.26
Phone: (210) 458-4501
Web: http://www.cs.utsa.edu/~dcadena/
Email: dennis.cadena@utsa.edu
Larry Clark
Lecturer II
Office: FLN 4.01.22
Web: http://www.cs.utsa.edu/~clark/
Email: clark.utsa@yahoo.com
Angela Dean
Lecturer II
Office: FLN 4.01.26
Phone: (210) 458-4501
Web: http://www.cs.utsa.edu/~adean
Email: pro
Jason Jendrusch
Lecturer I
Office: FLN 4.01.12
Web: http://www.cs.utsa.edu/~jjendrusch/
Email: jasonjendrusch@gmail.com
Richard Murphy
Lecturer II
Office: FLN 4.01.26
Phone: (210) 458-4501
Web: https://sites.google.com/site/rm271828/
Email: richard.murphy@utsa.edu
John Ortiz
Lecturer III
Office: FLN 4.01.26
Phone: (210) 458-4501
Web: http://www.cs.utsa.edu/~jortiz/
Email: stego@satx.rr.com
Dawnlee Roberson
Lecturer II
Office: FLN 4.01.26
Phone: (210) 458-4501
Web: http://my.cs.utsa.edu/~roberson
Email: dawn.roberson.cs@gmail.com
Mark Robinson
Lecturer II
Office: FLN 4.01.12
Phone: (210) 458-5545
Web: http://www.cs.utsa.edu/~markrobinson
Email: mrobinso@cs.utsa.edu
Mehdi Roopaei
Lecturer II
Office: FLN 4.01.26
Phone: (210) 458-4501
Web: http://www.cs.utsa.edu/~roopaei/.
Email: mehdi.roopaei@utsa.edu
Jonathan (Jessica) Sherette
Lecturer I
Office: FLN 3.01.07
Web: http://www.cs.utsa.edu/~jsherett/
Email: jlsherette@satx.rr.com
Neal Wagner
Associate Professor
Office: FLN 4.01.26
Phone: (210) 458-4501
Web: http://www.cs.utsa.edu/~wagner/
Email: neal.wagner@gmail.com
Dave Womack
Lecturer III
Ed.D., The University of Texas at San Antonio (2010)
Office: FLN 4.01.22
Phone: (210) 458-8585
Web: http://www.cs.utsa.edu/~womack/
Email: womack@cs.utsa.edu
Research Interests: Online Education

Staff

Vanessa Acosta
Student Development Specialist I
Office: FLN 4.01.10
Phone: (210) 458-7217
Email: vanessa.acosta@utsa.edu
Susan Allen
Administrative Associate I
Office: FLN 4.01.10
Phone: (210) 458-4436
Email: susan.allen2@utsa.edu
Brian Hogan
Computer Systems Administrator
Office: FLN 3.02.12
Phone: (210) 458-7213
Email: bhogan@cs.utsa.edu
Rhonda Johnson
Administrative Associate I
Office: FLN 4.01.10
Phone: (210) 458-4453
Email: rhonda.johnson@utsa.edu
Cindy Murphy
Administrative Services Officer II
Office: FLN 4.01.10B
Phone: (210) 458-4443
Email: cindy.murphy@utsa.edu
Paul Rad
Director of Applied Research in Cloud Computing
Office: FLN 4.01.58
Phone: (210) 458-4967
Web: http://www.cs.utsa.edu/~paulrad/
Email: peyman.najafirad@utsa.edu
Pik Rodriguez
Administrative Manager
Office: FLN 4.01.10D
Phone: (210) 458-4434
Email: pik.rodriguez@utsa.edu
Dan Smolenski
Senior Network Analyst
Director of CS Computing Facilities
Office: FLN 3.01.13
Phone: (210) 458-4433
Web: http://www.cs.utsa.edu/~dsmolens/
Email: dsmolens@cs.utsa.edu