The First ACM Workshop on Scalable Trusted Computing (STC'06)

A workshop held in conjuction with the

13th ACM Conference on Computer and Communications Security (ACM CCS'06)

Friday Nov. 3, 2006, Johnson Center, George Mason University, Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Preliminary Program available now!

[Please refer to CCS website for registration and hotel information]

STC'06 brings you two outstanding invited speakers (see the program page for slides):

    I.   Ken Birman (Professor at Cornell University)
         Title: Scalable Trust: Engineering Challenge or Complexity Barriers?

    II.  Geoffrey Strongin (AMD Fellow, Platform Security Architect, AMD Inc.)
         Title: The Role of Trusted Computing in Internet Scale DRM

How to prepare your proceedings version?

Please refer to

Call for Papers [pdf version] [text version]

In a society increasingly dependent on networked information systems, trusted computing plays a crucial role. Despite significant progress in trusted computing components, the issue of scalability in trusted computing and its impact on security are not well-understood. Consequently, there is a dearth of practical solutions for trusted computing in large-scale systems. Approaches suitable for small- or medium-scale trusted computing systems might not be applicable to larger-scale scenarios.

This new workshop is focused on trusted computing in large-scale systems -- those involving (at the very least) many millions of users and thousands of third parties with varying degrees of trust. The workshop is intended to serve as a forum for researchers as well as practitioners to disseminate and discuss recent advances and emerging issues.

The workshop solicits regular technical papers of up to 10 pages, and work-in-progress (or position) papers of up to 4 pages. The workshop proceedings will be published by the ACM Press. Topics of interest to the workshop include the following:

Important dates:

  Submission due:             June 20, 2006 (from anywhere in the world)
                              extended to: June 27, 2006 (from anywhere in the world)
  Notification:               Aug. 10, 2006
  Proceedings version due:    Aug. 21, 2006 new: Aug. 29, 2006
  CCS conference:             Oct. 30 - Nov. 3, 2006
  STC workshop:               Nov. 3, 2006

Submission information (now closed):

  The paper submission webpage is at

  1. It is up to the authors to decide whether a submission should be anonymous (i.e., no author names, affiliation information appeared in the submission).
  2. The length of the full-paper submissions is at most 12 pages excluding bibliography, appendix etc. The total number of pages should not be more than 20, whereas the reviewers are not required to read the appendix. The font should be at least 11pt.
  3. The length of short/work-in-progress/position-paper submissions is at most 6 pages excluding bibliography. The font should be at least 11pt.

PC co-chairs:

  Gene Tsudik    University of California, Irvine
  Shouhuai Xu    University of Texas, San Antonio
  Moti Yung      RSA and Columbia University

Program Committee:

  Lorenzo Alvisi        University of Texas, Austin
  Yair Amir             Johns Hopkins University
  Giuseppe Ateniese     Johns Hopkins University
  Rida Bazzi            Arizona State University
  Bharat Bhargava       Purdue University
  Ken Birman            Cornell University
  Ernie Brickell        Intel
  Wei Chen              Microsoft Research
  Glenn Durfee          PARC
  David Evans           University of Virginia
  Wenke Lee             Georgia Tech
  Ninghui Li            Purdue University
  Peng Liu              Penn State University
  Steve Myers           University of Indiana
  Cristina Nita-Rotaru  Purdue University
  HariGovind Ramasamy   IBM Research
  Ahmad-Reza Sadeghi    Ruhr-University Bochum
  Jean-Pierre Seifert   University of Haifa
  Vitaly Shmatikov      University of Texas, Austin
  Leendert van Doorn    IBM Research
  Cliff Wang            Army Research Laboratory
  Dongyan Xu            Purdue University
  Haifeng Yu            Intel Research Pittsburgh / CMU
  Ben Zhao              UCSB
  Lidong Zhou           Microsoft Research